top of page

Elephant skort from curtains with bamboo rayon

I started with a set of curtains the I loved for the elephant and palm tree print. It looked like something from the 1950s.

Here is my initial sketch of my idea.

DRAFTING

I used the skirt pattern size 12 from Malia as the block to work off of.

Instead of drafting a paper pattern I cut a new curve along the front line right along the fabric, so I could see the shape in relationship to the elephant print. Since I plan to show the shorts underneath I didn’t make any overlap of the skirt at the top. You can see the shape of the cut out in the photo above, but the prints are matched up so it’s not obvious at first glance.

I don’t think I have enough of the knit fabric for a full sized short so I factored in 2” of stretch per 7” section and used the pant foundation from Simplicity 6217 .

They rayon scrap I’m using as my fabric is too small, so I am reducing the skirt size by 1” at each side seam, which means it should fit a waist 27” now. I also plan to sew the knit at ¼” seam allowance instead of 5/8” Supposedly the pattern is size 14, whatever that means.

The style is very teen, so a younger girl would be appropriate. Instead of taking darts to further reduce the skirt waist to match the smaller short I’ll overlap some where the skirt meets the waist.

I plan to “scallop” the edge. I made a few paper patterns I taped to the skirt edge until I found one I liked. It’s an irregular shape, which I think will make it a little more interesting. I plan to cut the scallops from all of the remaining palm trees, so they have palm leaves in them for a consistent style element.

On later reflections, I’m going with a different plan. The wonky scallops are a lot of work for something I might not like. I’ve been rethinking that and even the idea of using the palm branches from the print as the main part in the flare.

Instead I’m going to make normal scallops from green fabric and line the back with blue. I have a book from the library on how to do courtor embellishments so I’m going to use this opportunity to learn about and practice piping. Between the skirt and the green scallops I’m going to put a thin blue bit of piping. Also, I want to enclose that seam in bias tape, like I did with my jacket, so I’ll be sewing bias tape in at the same time.

After estimating how many scallops I’ll need I’ve realized I don’t have enough blue fabric to line the back of the scallops. While I was looking I found some lace I like and I think I’ll incorporate that. Here I’m laying the lace out with the colors I have enough fabric of to try and get a sense of if I’ll like them together.

I like the white over the dark green. I really wish I had the blue satin in a large quantitate. I like it much more than the brown.

Oh, dear, the edge scallops. When I put them on, I trimmed them to what I thought was the correct shape, since I followed the line of the hem. But in fact, I cut them the wrong direction so they all curved inward. When I sewed them in they pulled the skirt up at a wonky angle.

They would be great if I was making a table cloth and I wanted a bend at that point. See how nicely they drape around the edge of the ironing board. Not at all what I want.

I just cut them all off again and now I’ll just have a lace trim. Probably a better choice anyway. And now I have all these 1/3 circles I should find some use for. So much cutting and sewing and pressing to make them and now they are a total bust.

Here is the construction plan I started with.

CUTTING

Skirt front & back identical but sew 1” darts into back

(hold off on waistband and interfacing until it’s measured)

cut two front and two back of knit short from bamboo rayon knit

cut palm trees and blue satin linings as needed – changed to just lace

cut blue satin bias tape to cover skirt to scallop interior seam – not enough blue satin so I used brown

CONSTRUCTION PLAN

Install zipper into skirt – I put it in, but later took it out

Finish edges of skirt seam on zipper (not sure how so skipped)

Sew pocket side of skirt

Finish edges on pocket side

Press pockets to seams and top stich pocket edge (skipped)

Sew scallops to each other turn a press

Machine baste lace and ¼ exposed bias strip to skirt hem

Press 2 “ bias strip in half and turn one edge to enclose hem edges

Pin scallops and bias tape to skirt hem cutting to shape as I go (see photo)

Sew skirt hem, understich, clip seam extras, press bias over raw edges

Baste bias strip to raw edges

Do you want to embellish the showing leg of the short? Now is the time (skipped)

Sew back seam of short

Sew front seam of short

Sew inner seam of short

Fold skort up and hem

Measure waistband, find model and fit to her size

Sew waistband to skirt

Hand stitch inside

Sew hook and eye above zipper (replaced with draw string and knit)

After putting the skirt part together I’m evaluating. My piping didn’t come out even. The skirt is too long and totally covering the shorts which I always imagined would peak out on the long side and be revealed almost fully on the short side. I’d have to recut the whole skirt and take out the finished hemline I just struggled over to make it shorter so instead I put several pleats in to make it finish half way across. I took out the zipper to do that and now I’m using a draw string in the short side for flexibility on sizing.

The short side seems very plain and not well balanced with the ornate elephant side so I made an extra-long sash that can tie on that side. But maybe it’s too much?

I completely forgot to photograph it at the photoshoot and since it isn’t attached I’m thinking it’s just an embellishment that could go with any outfit, like a belt or scarf. I feel like I need some simple thing to decorate the edge of the short. I might take some of the little fruits from the elephant print and appliqué them. That could be just the right amount. But I’m concerned that the stiff fabric on the knit might look odd. But it worked fine when I made the palm tree tube top, so it would work.

When I met Astika, the model who I photographed the skort in, she really seemed to like it and she has a collection of clothes for photos, so I gave the skort to her on the condition that when I do a runway show, she will come and model it. We did discover that the gold rat tail I used in the draw string tends to slip so much it doesn’t work well as a tie, so I’ll probably swap that out. But since I sent the skort with her that has ended any embellishments for now or any further fretting over it. This garment if fully finished on the inside and out and is completely washable, which I'm pleased about.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page