top of page

Oversized sweater simple no sew rework


Reworking an oversized sweater can be very simple. Most knits don’t fray the way they used to so if you cut neatly hemlines are entirely optional. The simplest version of this rework is to

  1. start with an oversized sweater,

  2. cut off any gathered waist or cuffs

  3. cut down the center cardigan style

  4. overlap that for a more modern asymmetrical look

  5. fasten in the new place with a broach or clip.

Here is the story of one of my sweater reworks.

This was in my donation pile. It was too custie with the ¾’ sleeves and the oversized frilly collar. I liked the color, but the sweater was piling so normally I wouldn’t have reworked it, but I got snowed in so suddenly felt a need for a sweater and couldn’t get to the thrift store.

I started with a couple sketches. I thought I remembered three big buttons down the front and I was trying to figure out cleaver ways to work those slits into the design, which resulted in weird complicated lines. When I actually looked at it I was relieved. It had a zipper closure instead of buttons.

Before doing a new sketch I cut the frilly collar off. Immediately the whole thing was better.

So I kept going and released the sleeve hem and that felt better too.

And I released the waist hem, which made it a much better length in back, but I had these weird pocket holes in the front.

I was thinking a cropped front that curves down to the side seam for a long back to mimic a French tuck. If I was 20, I’d crop it all the way around and be done with it.

In order to cut it short in front I needed to cross the metal zipper. I like the zipper and might want to use as an exposed element on something else and took the extra time to take it out. Fortunately, this didn’t affect the finished edge in front.

Since the original sweeter was too big across the shoulders I decided I’d double layer it at the top for an asymmetrical cut and let the flaps hanging loose. I’ll use it pullover style as an outer layer, so it can actually have a permeant closure. Instead of putting a snap inside I sewed the under layer in place. I used an old leather hair clip to secure the outer layer in place. The pin goes easily through the knit so nothing tricky there and I love the detail of the leather butterfly. With the rest of the design lines simplified the leather closure makes a nice visual focal point.

I was going to leave a cut edge at the neckline, but I got these nice strips with finished edges from the zipper release and sewed them to the collar for a cleaner finish than the frayed edge look.

I used some of the frilly collar to make new cuffs that gather the sleeves at wrist, so they won’t be dragging in everything. I will leave a raw edge at the waist line, just because a hem would add stiffness and bulk I don’t want on my hips.

The final detail that made this wearable for me is that I tested out my electric clothes trimmer that is supposed to shave balls off of sweaters. I had more fuzzy ends than balls.

The shaver wasn’t the miraculous device I hoped it would be. I could see that a more powerful tool in a skilled hand might be wonderful. It didn’t seem a dramatic difference but after a couple hours of patient shaving the sweater looked presentable though not new. Close up with side light you can see it made a difference. It certainly made a difference to my floor which ended up covered in sweater fluff from my bad aim emptying the lint chamber on the cloth’s shaver. Here are the before and after images.

Have fun and please share some of the sweaters you rework. I'd love to know if anyone has better luck with the clothes shaver than I did.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
bottom of page